Stock&Buy Evolves Into Qoblex Read More
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Sales
  4. Allocate, Deallocate, or Put on Hold Sales Orders

Allocate, Deallocate, or Put on Hold Sales Orders

Allocating and deallocating the products in your orders is the best course of action for improving inventory management and ensuring order fulfillment. It enables you to efficiently handle orders, avoid shortages of products, and make the best use of your resources. This will lead to improve your business operations and client satisfaction.

Qoblex enables you to select 3 workflows in your Sales orders to effectively manage your orders and inventory:

AllocateAssigning items or stocks from your inventory to fulfill your customers’ orders.
DeallocateRemoving or reversing the allocation of items from an open sales order.
Put on HoldThe order is temporarily paused which stops the processing or fulfillment of the particular order.

Choosing workflow from your Sales view

You can take the following steps from your Sales view to manage your inventory while keeping track of all open sales orders:

  1. Go to your Sales module.
  2. Select the orders that you wish to manage.
  3. At the top-right corner of the page, click Bulk Actions.
  4. Choose your workflow.

Allocate

When you create a sales order and enter line items, the items in that order are automatically allocated or reserved for the order’s fulfillment.

For orders that are Put on Hold, the line items aren’t automatically allocated and you have to allocate them manually.

You might occasionally have one or two orders with the same line items. In this case, the allocation will start on the order which was created first.

Deallocate

If you have a sales order that is Allocated and Ready To Ship it means that all the line items in that order are reserved and you can choose to dispatch them to your customer or recepient.

Your orders may occasionally undergo alterations, and they might remain in this status for an excessively long time. It could also indicate that your customer hasn’t paid you yet or that the transaction has been totally canceled, in which case you can decide to deallocate your products from that order.

This will return the stock of your items back to your inventory count and can be allocated again to a different order.

Once you deallocate an order that is currently full, its Stock Status will change to Awaiting Stock.

Put on Hold

When you have multiple sales orders that have the same line items and you don’t have enough stock to fulfill all of them, you can choose to put on hold some of your orders. This means that when you have enough stock to cater a different order in the meantime, the system won’t automatically allocate the line items in the order that you’ve put on hold.

This enables you to prioritize which orders you want to fulfill first and at the same time enables you to know which orders are pending and can choose whether or not to allocate the items on them once you have the available stock.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles